Wednesday, 22 August 2018

Genji Sawai • Sowaka

I think this was one of those Japan only releases, Material (Laswell and Beinhorn) were hot property after writing and producing Herbie Hancock's Future Shock album which begat the mega hit Rockit. This album is in the same vain but more avant-garde.
1. 1969 (the real) (Sawai, Laswell, Beinhorn)
2. Za (Sawai, Laswell, Beinhorn)
3. Hikobae (Sawai,Laswell)
4. Cha-brown (Sawai, Laswell, Beinhorn)
5. Sowaka (Sawai, Laswell, Semba)
6. Don (Sawai, Laswell)

Genji Sawai • alto sax, soprano sax, tenor sax, sopranino, yamaha DX-7, voice
Bill Laswell • bass, turntables, yamaha DX-7
Michael Beinhorn • DMX, prophet5, yamaha DX-7
Kiyohiko Semba • Japanese percussion
Yutaka Uehara • drums
Kazuhiko Tsumura • guitar
Kazuhiko Shibayama • guitar
Midori Takada • percussion
Shuichi Murakami • percussion
Sang Won Park • kayaguem
Atsuko Yuma • voice
Rob Stevens • Yamaha DX-7, processing.

Recorded at Starship Studio, Tokyo, Japan
Engineer : Yasuhiro Abe
Assistant Engineers : Yasuyuki Moriyama, Kunihiko Imai and Hideaki Ikeda
Mixed at Evergreen Studio, New York by Rob Stevens and Lothar Segeler

Arranged by Genji Sawai and Bill Laswell
Produced by Material and Genji Sawai


  1. Sounds interesting but can't find the download link!

  2. This is totally new to me and what a great album! Big thanks for letting us hear this.

  3. At last something you having got already, your welcome.

  4. I bow to your blog's awesomeness...

    Dave (Silent Watcher)

  5. Dave, I bow to you, your Silent Watcher site has been a great source of info for many years.
    It's an honour to have a comment from you on my blog. Much respect.

  6. hi - thanks for the blog and the great titles but pleeease where are the download links ????- i just can't see them...sorry if it's obvious!
    any help would be appreciated
    meanwhile - here's a good laswell link i just found
    got loads of originals myself...any requests?

  7. Hi I'm new here, just arrived, really interesting blog I found some good things and I would like to start from this one, but where are the links? I am already in late and they are dead. Pleeeeease may you re up, anyway thank you for good music you share

  8. thank in advance, it looks very interesting.

  9. thx so very much, appreciated

  10. Thank you for the re-up very H.T.F.

  11. Hi once again. My copy has been deleted, so any time, when you may have the time to re-up would be appreciated. also looking for his release skip jack



  12. Hi,

    Is the only way to DL from Icebox via paid plan? Any chance you could put this on a free service like Zippy or something? Thanks very much!!!