Thursday, 16 April 2009

Macro Dub Infection • Volume One

Macro Dub Infection, a two-disc set promisingly subtitled "Volume 1," is a good example of the variety of music being produced under the "dub" rubric. Not every track is reggae, but each is informed by the spacy, mystical ambience of dub, and most feature reggae's trademark deep, snaky basslines -- not to mention the vocals appearing out of nowhere before spinning off into space and the drums sneaking up and pounding you about the head and shoulders before disappearing again. These artists are mostly British, though Americans will recognize names like Tricky and the Golden Palominos. The weird skull artwork on the cover is a tipoff to the dark, eerie mood that permeates this album -- note in particular Two Badcard's creepy spoken-word track and the lovely "Operation Mind Control" by the charmingly named Skull vs. Ice. Lighter moments include the jungle-flavored "Double Edge Dub" and a lighthearted Mad Professor track called "Ragga Doll." This set rewards repeated listening and is highly recommended.

D i s c O n e
1 The Disciples • The Struggle Of Life
2 Spring Heel Jack • Double Edge Dub
3 Two Badcard • Sergio Mendez Part 1
4 Automaton • Astral Altar Dub
5 Bedouin Ascent • Broadway Boogie Woogie
6 The Rootsman • The Wadada (Sema Mix)
7 Coil • The Hills Are Alive
8 Omni Trio • The Half Cut
9 Laika • If You Miss (Laika Virgin Mix)
10 New Kingdom • Crush Your Enemies (Panama Connection Dub Mix)
11 Tortoise • Goriri

D i s c T w o
1 Skull vs. Ice • Operation Mind Control
2 Bud Alzir • Morocco
3 Extremadura • Beta, Seekers Of Smooth Things
4 4 Hero • The Paranormal In 4 Form
5 Golden Palominos • This Is How It Feels (Dub)
6 Mad Professor • Ragga Doll
7 Wagon Christ • Phora Ride
8 Scorn • The End (Remix)
9 Tricky • Ambient Pumpkin
10 Bandulu • Come Forward
11 Earthling • Nothingness

Scientist Meets the Ghost Captain


Label: Virgin 7243 8 40475 2 8
Series: Ambient Series - AMBT 7
Format: 2 x CD, Compilation
Country: UK
Released: 1995
Genre: Electronic
Style: Leftfield, Dub, Drum n Bass, Trip Hop

No comments:

Post a comment